FLASHBACK: Washington Monument, Friday, August 29, 2014

This came up in my Facebook memories today, and it gave me a good laugh.  I volunteered at WAMO and was outside nearly the whole 7 hours I was there.  I was with one of my favorite Rangers to work with, Eddy Kahle, who sadly moved to another park a few months later.  He’s now at another of my favorite parks, and I need to get down there to visit him.

Anyway, it was a pretty good day, but there was one visitor interaction that has stuck with me even two years later.

Working the line, early evening:

Me:  How many are in your group?
Irish Woman:  Two.
Me:  OK, oh wait, I’m sorry, I have a large group ahead of you, so you will be the start of the next group.  Please wait here and I will come back to check your tickets.
Irish Woman:  I don’t know what kind of a system you have here.
Me:  Excuse me?
Irish Woman:  I don’t know why we are second class just because we are a small group.
Me:  You’re not at all, I just have a limit on the number of people I can send through security at one time, so you will be the start of the next group.
Irish Woman:  Well, you said we can’t go in because we are a small group.
Me:  You will get in, I promise, as soon as this group I’m sending up now gets through security.
Irish Woman:  So because they are a large group they get to go first?
Me:  No, I just go straight down the line and count until I have a full group for security.
Irish Woman:  Well, we were ahead of some of them.
Me:  There were some group members waiting in other places, but the people holding the tickets were waiting at the front of the line.
Irish Woman:  I don’t know what kind of system you have here.
Me:  You are going to get in, I promise.
Irish Woman:  But we’re second class because we are only a group of two.  I don’t know what kind of system that is.
Me:  I’ll take your tickets now, please wait here for just a minute while I count out 8 people for security.
Irish Woman:  I don’t know what kind of system this is.
Me:  Fortunately, we do.  Please head over to the Rangers at the door.  Enjoy your visit!

When I got home, I emptied my pockets.  This is what 6 hours working the line looks like:

Tix

Leave a Reply

