Welcome to my blog!

Hello and thanks for stopping by!  You probably already know me, but in case you don’t, I’m Sandy, and I have been a National Park Service Volunteer-In-Parks (VIP) at the National Mall and Memorial Parks (NAMA) in Washington, DC for 11 years.  I absolutely love it and can’t imagine not spending my time there every chance I get.

First, let me address the title of my blog.  July 4th is always a crazy day in DC, as you may imagine.  I always volunteer on the 4th, and one of my jobs is serving as the “Cart Czar.”  I get a list of people who have been assigned golf carts, and they have to come to me to get their keys and sign their carts out.  I couldn’t think of a better title, so this one will just have to do. 🙂

Now that that’s out of the way, you may be wondering why I decided to start a blog.  Well, after years of telling the stories of my visitor/park ranger interactions, several friends have suggested I write a book.  That will probably never happen, but last week my friend Leslie said I should start a blog.  She’s very smart, so of course I listened to her.  And here we are.

I don’t plan to tackle any of the world’s issues.  There will be nothing profound on this blog.  I don’t promise to post on a set schedule.  Basically, if I have a funny or memorable conversation, you will read it here.  It may go on Facebook first, or I may hold it to post here.  Hopefully you’ll find them entertaining.  I may also post things that are not necessarily funny, but which touch me in some way and make me want to share them with people.  Like this…

DoleKiss

Yep, I kissed Bob Dole in front of the World War II Memorial on May 16, 2015.  He pointed to his cheek and said, “Gimme a kiss right here, and then put it on Facebook!”  I asked him if Mrs. Dole would be jealous, and he replied, “Well, she should be here!”

I will try to post something every time I volunteer, but I can’t promise that will happen.  Thanks to the magic of Timehop and Facebook memories, I will also post “archived” interactions whenever possible.

I hope you enjoy what you read here, but if not, oh well, I’m only human and I can’t please everyone.

Leave a comment